Quito, Ecuador » City Info

Quito, officially known as ‘San Francisco de Quito’ is the capital of Ecuador, a country located in South America. It is the first city declared by UNESCO as World Cultural Heritage Site in 1978.

After La Paz in Bolivia, Quito is the second-highest capital city in the world at 2850m. Furthermore, Quito is the second most populated city in Ecuador, after Guayaquil. Quito is the official headquarters of the Union of South American Nations. Encircled by Andes volcanoes, nestled in the Guayllabamba river basin, Quito is a dreamer’s paradise.

Due to its elevated location and mild climate, Quito can be visited any time of the year, making it a perfect tourist destination. The surrounding snow-capped volcanoes, especially the Pichincha volcano standing tall at 4790m, add a natural touch to its beauty. The city boasts 40 churches, 16 convents and monasteries, 12 museums and a rich cultural heritage.

Quito is a mix of old colonial architecture and modern complexes. Trendy shopping malls, colonial museums, churches, historical monuments, outdoor markets and restaurants provide a unique experience. Enjoy an evening walking on the cobbled streets, experience the breathtaking views, and understand why Quito is one of the favourite tourist destinations of South America.

CapitalSan Francisco de Quito (Quito)
Area372.39 km² (143.78 sq.mi.)
Elevation2,850 m (9,350 ft) above sea level
Population: city2,011,388 (2020)
Population: metro3,156,182 (2020)
Time ZoneUTC−5 (ECT)
Co-ordinates00°15′00″S 78°35′00″W
Official languageSpanish